Matthew Maggio Named Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy (Top Scorer) & Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy (Top Scoring Right Winger) Award Winner

Ontario Hockey League

Toronto, Ont. – The Ontario Hockey League today announced recipients of the League’s annual regular season awards.



Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy (Top Scorer) & Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy (Top Scoring Right Winger) – Matthew Maggio, Windsor Spitfires
For the second straight year, a Windsor Spitfires player is taking home the Eddie Powers Trophy, receiving the OHL’s Top Scorer Award presented by Kubota Canada. As the OHL’s top-scoring right winger, Maggio also earns the Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy.

New York Islanders prospect Matthew Maggio paced the OHL with 111 points including a League-leading 54 goals along with 57 assists in 66 games. Maggio was a plus-41 performer, scoring just four of his 54 goals on the power play to become one of four players in the past decade to score at least 45 even strength goals in a season.

Maggio tied a Spitfires single game franchise record with his five goals on Dec. 15th in a 6-3 win over the Erie Otters, joining Daniel D’Amico, Paul Gagne and Gerry Leroux as the fourth Spitfire to accomplish the feat. He follows last year’s Eddie Powers Trophy recipient, former teammate Wyatt Johnston in becoming the fourth player in modern Spitfires franchise history to claim the honour. Other recipients have included Taylor Hall (2009-10) and Peter Sarno (1997-98) while Earl Reibel (1949-50) and Bert Giesebrecht (1948-49) also have their names etched on the trophy.

A fifth round (142nd overall) pick by the New York Islanders last summer, the overage Maggio wraps-up his OHL regular season career with 99 goals, 118 assists and 217 points over 212 contests spent between Windsor and the Ottawa 67’s, who selected him in the fifth round (86th overall) of the 2018 OHL Priority Selection. Maggio recorded 17 points (7-10–17) in 25 games last spring as the Spits won a Western Conference title and reached Game 7 of the OHL Championship Series.

The Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy was donated by the Toronto Marlboro Athletic Club in memory of Eddie Powers and was first awarded in 1945-46 to Tod Sloan of St. Michael’s who scored 79 points in 25 games. In addition to Johnston, other recent recipients have included Marco Rossi of the Ottawa 67’s in 2019-20, high-scoring present-day Dallas Stars winger Jason Robertson of the Niagara IceDogs in 2018-19, along with former Spitfire Aaron Luchuk, who claimed the honour as a member of the Barrie Colts in 2017-18.

Additionally, Maggio is the first Windsor Spitfires player to ever win the Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy as the OHL’s top scoring right-winger.

The Jim Mahon Trophy was first presented following the 1971-72 season by the players and management of the Peterborough Petes in memory of their right winger Jim Mahon who was accidentally killed that summer. Recent recipients have included Lucas Edmonds of the Kingston Frontenacs in 2021-22, Arthur Kaliyev of the Hamilton Bulldogs in 2019-20, Justin Brazeau of the North Bay Battalion in 2018-19 and Jordan Kyrou of the Sarnia Sting in 2017-18.

For a look at the history of the Ontario Hockey League’s award recipients, click here

More News
Windsor Spitfires Foundation. Windsor Cancer Centre.
3 days ago
OHL Announces 2022-23 All-Star and All-Rookie Teams
6 days ago
Spitfires' Onuska commits to Waterloo
2 weeks ago
Spitfires Sign 1st Round Pick Jack Nesbitt to an OHL Standard Player Agreement
3 weeks ago
Windsor Spitfires, WFCU Credit Union, LiUNA!625 and CAESARS Cares support "All in 4 ALS fundraiser". NHL Superstars coming to the WFCU August 12th
3 weeks ago
Windsor Spitfire fans support the Hospice of Windsor and Essex County.
3 weeks ago